Creating, editing, and deleting classes

Creating a class

Teachers can create as many classes as they need. There are three main ways: Creating a class in NewselaImporting a class from Google ClassroomCreating a class with a Single Sign-On Provider.  Students must log in to their own Newsela accounts to join the class.

  1. Log in to your Newsela account.
  2. Hover over your name in the Search and Navigation bar at the top and choose CLASSES.
  3. Type your class name, select a grade, then click Add Class.
  4. For additional tips on how to get your students started once you create a class, check out our Quick Start Guide for Students.

Creating a class with Google Classroom

If you use Google Classroom, you can now import your Google Classroom classes to Newsela and share articles with your students. For directions on adding a class to Newsela from your Google Classroom, see Import Google Classroom to Newsela.

Creating a class with a Single Sign-On Provider

Check with your district's technology coordinator for help using a Single Sign-On provider such as Clever

Editing a class

Changing a class name

Teachers can change the name of a class at any time. The next time students log in, they will see the new class name.

  1. Hover over your name in the Search and Navigation bar at the top and choose CLASSES.
  2. Click Edit  beside the class you want to change.
  3. Enter the new class name and click SAVE.

Adding students to a class

Once a teacher has created a class, the students log in to their Newsela account and join the class. Teachers don't have the ability to add students to their class.
NOTE: If students don't have a Newsela account, they must register for Newsela before joining the class. Students don't need an email address to register for Newsela.

  1. Hover over your name in the Search and Navigation bar at the top and choose CLASSES.
  2. Click Invite Students.
  3. Share the Class Link or Class Code with your students.
  4. Each class has a customized Quick Start Guide that tells students how to join your class. Click the Quick Start Guide  icon on your Classes page to access the customized guide and share it with your students.
    NOTE: Teachers can't add students to a class.
  5. For additional help getting your students started, see Quick Start Guide for Students.

Removing students from a class

When a teacher removes a student from a class, all data for that student is also removed from the class in the teacher's binder. If the student took any quizzes in the class, those quiz scores are also removed from the student performance data.
NOTE: Removing a student from a class doesn't delete the student's account.

  1. Hover over your name in the Search and Navigation bar at the top and choose STUDENTS.
  2. Use Student Lookup or scroll down to locate the student.
  3. Click Remove  beside the student's name.

Moving a student to a different class

If a student has been added to the wrong class, the student must be removed from the incorrect class and added to the correct class.
NOTE: Removing a student from a class doesn't delete the student's account.

  1. Follow directions in Adding a student to a class above to add the student to the correct class.
  2. Once the student has joined the new class, follow directions for Removing students from a class above to remove the student from the old class.

Deleting a class

When a teacher deletes a class, all assignments and associated quiz data will be removed from the teacher's binder. However, completed assignments and quiz results will still appear in the student's binder and the school administrator's binder.

  1. Hover over your name in the Search and Navigation bar at the top and choose CLASSES.
  2. Click Remove  beside the class you want to remove.
  3. Type remove in the Type remove to confirm: box.
  4. Click X REMOVE CLASS.

Let’s Talk

Please provide your information below, and a member of our team will call you right back. Available during the business hours of 8am–7pm ET

Powered by Zendesk